Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

Give Now facebook The College of Arts & Sciences


A.I. Award for Distinguished Teaching

Since 1977, the Department has given a special award to an Associate Instructor upon the recommendations of the A.I. Committee, in recognition of excellence in classroom teaching. It is hoped that this award will serve to reinforce the high quality of instruction rendered by graduate students. Past recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award have been:

2001 Adriana Varga and Sarah Mote
2002 Adam Rovner
2003 Robert Bayliss, Shawn Conner and Gwen Stickney
2004 Heather Haffner and Theodore Bouabre
2005 Lilly Li and Kristin Reed
2006 Laila Amine
2007 Olga Volkova
2008 Edward Chamberlain
2009 Raina Polivka
2010 Julia Whyde
2011 Urszula Paleczek
2012 Holly Schreiber
2013 Elizabeth Geballe
2014 Catherine Riccio-Berry
2015 Juli Le Hegarat
2016 Alexandria Frauman
2017 Allison Posner
2018 Emerson Richards
2019 Morgane Flahault


Gilbert V. Tutungi Award

Since 1969, the Comparative Literature Department has awarded the Tutungi Prize for the best Master’s Project submitted in the previous calendar year. The Tutungi Prize may not be conferred on a Master’s Essay or Project which in an earlier version had won the Newton Stallknecht Prize. There is no restriction on the same student winning the Gilbert V. Tutungi Prize for a paper or project different from the submission which had earlier won the Stallknecht Prize. The prize is named in honor of the late Gilbert V. Tutungi, who received his Ph.D. in Comparative Literature at Indiana University. Past recipients of the Tutungi Award have been:

2001 Joanne Quimby
2002 Natasha Vaubel
2003 Peichen Liao
2004 Kristin Reed
2005 Anthony Lichi
2006 Michael Schlie
2007 April Witt
2008 Erin Plunkett
2009 Matt Rowe
2010 Ashley Perez
2011 William Nichols
2012 Meg Arenberg and Elizabeth Geballe
2013 Alison Posner
2014 Sarah Morrell
2016 Michael Montesano
2017 Elizabeth Ryba
2019 Helen Plevka


Newton P. Stallknecht Memorial Essay Prize

In 1981, friends of Newton P. Stallknecht established this award in his memory. Professor Stallknecht (1906-1981) began teaching at Indiana University in 1949. He served as chair of the Philosophy Department and as Director of the School of Letters, and was a Professor in the Comparative Literature Department from its inception. He officially retired in 1977, but continued to teach for another three years, while his health permitted it. The prize is awarded each spring for the best essay written during the preceding calendar year by a graduate student in a Comparative Literature course. A student need not be a Comparative Literature major to be eligible for the prize. There should be no restriction on the same student who has won the Stallknecht Prize in a previous year from winning it again for another paper. Nominations are solicited from the faculty; interested students should consult with the appropriate faculty member, or with the Chair of the Department. Past recipients of the Stallknecht Prize have been:

2002 Julia Whyde
2003 Vanessa Nolan
2004 James Rasmussen
2005 Olga Volkova
2006 Kunio Hara
2007 Genevieve Oliver
2008 Megan Savage
2009 Ashley Perez
2010 Erik Bohman
2011 Ashley Perez
2012 Mallory R Cohn
2013 Sarah Morrell
2014 Alexandria Frauman
2015 Morgan Flahault
2016 Sean Sidky
2017 Alexandria Frauman
2018 Meaghan Murphy
2019 Sarah Lawson


The C. Clifford Flanigan Memorial Colloquium Prize

In 1995 the friends of C. Clifford Flanigan established this prize in his memory. Clifford Flanigan (1941-1993) began teaching in the Comparative Literature Program at Indiana University in 1973. He was the Department's main specialist in drama and medieval studies and a distinguished member of the Institute for Medieval Studies. The prize honors the best presentation given by a student in Comparative Literature in the C. Clifford Flanigan Memorial Colloquia Series organized by the Student Advisory Board. Past winners of the Flanigan Prize:

2003 Paul Nelson
2004 Erin Plunkett
2006 Matt Rowe
2007 Kathryn Johnston
2008 James Rasmussen
2009 Laila Amine
2010 Natasha Vaubel
2011 Ya-Chu Yang
2012 Sarah Morrell
2013 Ashley Perez
2014 Meg Arenberg
2015 Sean Acot Sidky
2016 Alexandria Frauman
2017 Sean Sidky
2018 Helen Plevka
2019 Meaghan Murphy

The Ilinca Zarifopol Johnston Award

The Ilinca Zarifopol Johnston Award is given in honor of the life of Professor Johnston, an accomplished translator, scholar, and teacher who earned her Ph.D. in Comparative Literature and then taught in the Department from the 1990’s until her death in 2005. The award is given in alternate years to a graduate or an undergraduate student, chosen on the basis of GPA, breadth of interests, originality, academic and/or creative achievement, and overall promise. Faculty will bring to the attention of the Director of Undergraduate Studies or the Director of Graduate Studies their nominees for the award. Nominations will include a letter and any other relevant materials. Past graduate student winners of the Ilinca Zarifopol Johnston Award have been:

2007 Ioana Patuleanu
2009 James Rasmussen
2010 Sheila Akbar
2012 Amanda Steinken
2013 Meg Arenberg and Ashley Perez
2015 Meg Arenberg
2017 Elizabeth Geballe
2019 Julie LeHegarat & Morgane Flahault
For a list of undergraduate winners of this award, please see the Undergraduate Awards Page.

The Annie Geduld Memorial Prize

In 1992, Harry M. Geduld established this award in memory of Annie Geduld. The prize is given in alternate years to an outstanding graduate or undergraduate student in the Comparative Arts component of the Comparative Literature Program. Past graduate student winners of the Geduld Prize have been:

2008 Rebecca Disrud
2012 Ana Maria Magdelena Dragu
2013 Evan Smail
2014 Alexandria Frauman
2016 Morgane Flahault
2018 Melissa Sokolski

The Wertheim Awards in Comparative Drama

2016 Robert Reiser and Michael Montesano
2017 Melissa Sokoski
2018 Zachary Scalzo
2019 Melissa Sokolski

For a list of undergraduate winners of this award, please see the Undergraduate Awards Page.